Revisiting Familiar Flavors

For the last two days I have been elbow deep in cookie dough. As a child it was a big deal for me to make cookies each year… the more the merrier.

After marrying Jere and eating vegan it has been interesting improvising all the old faithful holiday recipes. Baking without milk, eggs, butter and cream seemed hopeless at first… that is until I found some handy alternatives (soy milk, egg replacer and earth balance margarine). They are my secret weapons in the cupboard! So far this year I’ve made 6 different kinds of christmas cookies  (cranberry oatmeal, pinwheels, sugar cookie cutouts, spiced cardamom cookies, chocolate snowcaps and coconut macaroons!)  and even some chocolate fudge. They still have to stand trial with all the employees, relatives and friends… but as far as I’m concerned, they taste just like some of the cookies I remember!

5 Responses

  1. Emilee,
    I don’t know how long it will take for you to read this post but I believe you should know how blessed I am to hear of your life and that of your family. I am living in Sacramento CA and am in the planning stages of a family garden with my father, brother and my self. My Dad has 20 acres of land (mostly forest trees) but across the road he has about 2.6 acres. We are trying to get at least 11 beds up & going this season. We need deer fencing a well with a pump a hook up to electric and seeds. Plus all the other odds and ins like soil, compost and wood. This is a big adventure for us but after seeing the movie Food Inc. we all seem to have ended up with the same vision. So please keep us in your prayers as we begin a calling to love of life and helping others sustain theirs. Many thanks for your determination and passion! Rachel Greenhalgh
    PS I too eat vegan and I don’t know what I’d do with out egg replacer, Earth Balance, Coconut and almond milk. Happy and blessed living.

  2. Emilee, I too am curious as to what you do with all the eggs from your heritage chickens. I raise old-fashioned chickens, also, and feed the eggs to my family, and use them for baking, tho I am not a big egg eater myself. I hope that my critters are happy, as they are free to roam our land and they don’t have to worry about anyone chopping their heads off. When they get old they curl up in a dark corner & die.

    Best to you. I do love “Heirloom Living”. You are so talented and, apparently, are endlessly energetic.

  3. What kind of margarine is “earth balance”?

    I avoid regular commercial margarine because of the process by which it is made. It’s one molecular link short of being plastic, you know.

  4. You will have to try the classic yule log (egg nog) cookies….I hear from a good source that they are one of your favorites. I think you could veganize them. ;0)

    Thanks for sharing your recipes!!

  5. Wow, with all the neat chickens you guys raise, what do you do with their eggs if you don’t eat them? Do you sell them? I had never thought about how hard it would be to make cookies the vegan method, but I’m so glad to hear it is possible! I do have one more question, where do you get all the rare heritage birds you raise? I’d love to start raising heritage birds.

Leave a Reply

