The Chicago Diner: Totally Worth the Drive!

chicago-skyline

Beautiful Navy Pier in Chicago

To do list:
1. Make Chicago Diner Seitan (Gluten Meat Substitute)
2. Finish Christmas Gift for — —-.
3. A ton of stuff to get done for the magazine
4. A thousand things that have slipped my mind at the moment …

One of my all time favorite cookbooks comes from one of my all time favorite restaurants. The Chicago Diner is tucked away on one of Chicago’s busy streets. Being a country girl, I white-knuckled my first ride into that city. However, it has won me over! There is nothing like eating a piece of one of the many desserts that The Chicago Diner is famous for while listening to the never-ending echos of horns honking and enjoying a rooftop view of the city skyline at night.

The diner proudly boasts being, “Meat Free Since 1983” and with their mouth-watering menu, who cares if meat isn’t included! For those of us who can only stand the city for a weekend the wonderful founder of the diner has graciously printed a cookbook to satisfy our cravings. The Cocoa Mousse cake is to die for and they’ve shared their secrets in the cookbook… no hidden ingredients! I also love their seitan. Yum! Their reuben sandwich is one of my favorites.

The Chicago Diner Cookbook by Chef Jo A. Kaucher is a must have for vegans and those transitioning into a more vegetarian lifestyle! Check out their website: http://www.veggiediner.com and be tempted!

So, now that my mouth is watering… maybe I should run and grab those cocoa mousse cupcakes out of the freezer?

One Response

  1. I don’t care for big cities, but I’m glad you had a good time! And I haven’t a confounded clue what a seitan is.

Leave a Reply

